y o u b i k e l o n d o n; Henry from London Bridge

Name and age?
Henry, and I'm 24 years old.
Where do you live and ride?
London Bridge
What do you ride?
It's a Giant OCR road bike.

How often do you ride a week?
4 or 5 times a week to work.
Helmet or no helmet?
Usually a helmet but, erm, not today!
What's your primary reason for cycling?
Execrise - it's good multi-tasking to commute to work and exercise at the same time, why sit on a train for an hour, and then go to a gym for an hour?  That, and I enjoy it.
Least favourite aspect of cycling?
Punctures.  I hate 'em.
Most favourite aspect of cycling?
The feeling of being out on your own and being able to go anywhere and do anything - on a nice day that feeling of setting out and feeling that anything could happen - I love that sense of freedom.
What advice would you give to an aspiring cyclist thinking of cycling in London for the first time?
Go for it, it's not as dangerous as you might think:  I got knocked off my bike living in Yorkshire but have had no trouble riding here in London, touch wood, for the past 18 months.
What could be done to improve the lot of the London cyclist?
Not enough is made of cultural shifts rather than building cycle paths etc.  Just making people more accepting, aware and respectful of cyclists would be huge.

1 comment:

Anne said...

I really look forward to your Friday posts and enjoy "meeting" all the individual London cyclists you profile.

Great feature. And thank you, Henry, for pointing out that culture change must happen at the same time as infrastructure development. It's an important point.